720-748-9908                  BOARD LOGIN

Kerry Siggins female leadership development coach

REGISTER TO ATTEND

Virtual Programs

for Grief Support

 

Grief Support Groups

Special Events

Printable Virtual Programs Calendar

Join a Monthly Grief Support Group

What is a Support Group at HeartLight Center?

Anyone who has experienced a death-loss, and is at least of 18 years of age, is invited to attend an open support group at HeartLight Center. Open support groups allow participants to attend as often or as little as needed and attendance is not taken.

Groups at HeartLight are led by trained, peer facilitators. Facilitators will open group with agreed upon expectations and then participants are invited to introduce themselves and share as much, or as little, as feels comfortable. Some facilitators will offer a reading or prompt during group, but groups do not have a set topic, which allows participants to ask questions and talk about topics that are meaningful to them. We invite you to attend group when it feels best for you, regardless of when your loss occurred.

Heart Light Center kindly requests that you register for virtual groups prior to attendance.  Online registration will close 24-hours prior to group.  Please contact us at [email protected] with questions or for more information.

Loss of a Parent(s)
Support Group

An ongoing support group for those who have experienced the death of a parent(s). Meets the 1st Monday of the month at 6pm (PT)/7pm (MST)/8pm (CT)/9pm (EST).

General Grief Group
Growing Through Grief

This ongoing support group is open to anyone who has experienced a death. We will spend time learning about the grief process and connecting with others. This can be a helpful group if you are newly bereaved and/or new to HeartLight, but is open to all at any point on your grief journey.

Meets the 1st Wednesday of the month at
6pm (PT)/7pm (MST)/8pm (CT)/9pm (EST), and on the and 3rd Tuesday of the month at 3pm (PT)/4pm (MST)/5pm (CT)/6pm (EST).

Suicide Loss Grief Support

This ongoing support group is open to adults who have experienced a loss due to suicide.

Meets the second Thursday of the month 
6pm (PT)/7pm (MST) / 8pm (CT) / 9pm (MST)

Loss of Spouse/Partner
Support Group

An ongoing support and educational group for people who have experienced the death of a spouse, partner or significant other. If your loss is recent or years ago, you are welcome to spend an evening with others who are on a similar journey. Meets the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 5pm (PT)/6pm (MST)/
7pm (CT)/8pm (EST).

Loss of a Child Support & Book Club

A peer support group for bereaved parents, grandparents, and caregivers who have experienced the death of a child at any age and for any reason. We will connect about different books and topics specific to loss of a child. You are invited whether you’ve read the book or not. Meets the 1st Thursday of the month at 4pm (PT) / 5pm (MST) / 6pm (CT) / 7pm (EST) on Zoom.

LGBTQ+ Grief Support Group

This group is specifically for members of the LGBTQIA+ community who are grieving the loss of a loved one, whether that’s a friend, family member, or a member of found family. Discussions of grief in this group will also include challenges related to grieving as an LGBTQIA+ individual. Meets the 2nd Monday of each month at 4pm-5:30pm (PT)/ 5-6:30pm (MST)/ 6-7:30pm (CT)/ 7-8:30pm (EST) on Zoom.

NEW! Survivors of Substance Loss

This group is for adult individuals who have experienced a death loss where substance use, abuse or overdose were part of the life/death narrative. This group will meet on the fourth Thursday of the month starting in February, 2024
6pm (PT)/7pm (MST)/8pm (CT)/9pm (EST).

*Please note: This group is not appropriate for individuals who are currently dealing with substance abuse.

NEW! Sudden Loss Grief Support Group

This group is for individuals who experienced an unexpected, sudden, traumatic loss (including but not limited to accidental death, suicide, homicide, etc). Will meet on the fourth Tuesday of the month starting in March.

5:30pm (PT) / 6:30pm (MST) / 7:30pm (CT) / 8:30pm (EST) on Zoom.

*Please note: This group is not appropriate for individuals who are currently dealing with substance abuse.

NEW! Young Adults Grief Support Group

for 18-25 year olds

This group is for specifically for individuals 18-25 years old who have experienced a death loss – regardless of relationship or cause of death. Will meet on the third Monday of the month starting in March 5pm (PT) / 6pm (MST) / 7pm (CT) / 8pm (EST) on Zoom.

Upcoming Workshops

We welcome you to join us for upcoming seminars and workshops that explore various topics on the grief journey.

Take a Pause… With Healing Laughter – Virtual Workshop

with Eileen Wolfington 

We invite you to take a pause… to come up for some air from your grief. It can feel challenging to access laughter during tragedy in our lives. And we welcome you to a supportive and gentle space with Eileen to explore breathing exercises, childlike play, and a little pause from the heaviness of our grief.
Laughter, coupled with varied movement and Yogic breathing brings oxygen to our body and brain making you feel healthier and more energetic and can help when we’re feeling “stuck” emotionally. No traditional yoga poses are used and no experience is required.
Suggested Donation $20  Registration is required.
All are welcome!

Meeting Thursday, May 16th on Zoom, 3pm (PT)/ 4pm (MST)/ 5pm (CT)/ 6pm (EST)

Suggested Donation: $20

Registration is required.

hands typing on a keyboard

Writing Your Grief- Virtual

 

Join us for a two-hour workshop writing your grief. We will talk about journal writing, haiku, and poetry, and hear how others have written about their grief. Participants will get a grief journal, and will have opportunities to write and share in community. Led by Rev. Dr. Nancy Niero, former hospice chaplain and bereavement coordinator with 15 years of hospice experience.

Registration is required.
All are welcome!

Upcoming Date: Saturday July 13th

Time: 9am PT / 10am MST / 11am CT / 12pm ET | Virtually on Zoom

hands typing on a keyboard

Goal Setting in the New Year: A Mid-Year Check-in

A follow-up from the “Goal Setting in the New Year” workshop, this virtual workshop is a way to get some support and check-in intentionally with our goals and self-care needs. We will discuss progress and self-compassion, coping strategies and self-care needs, and check-in with ourselves, our goals and each other.

Registration is required.
All are welcome!

Upcoming Date: Saturday July 27th

Time: 8:30am PT /9:30am MST /10:30am CT /11:30am ET | Virtually On Zoom

hands typing on a keyboard

First Steps:

A Comprehensive Guide to Financial Matters After Death

Receive support for the financial and practical tasks that follow a death loss.

Workbooks and Free Virtual Seminars

Shane Phillips, author of First Steps: A Comprehensive Guide To Financial Matters After A Death, joins us for presentations around practical matters after death. Bringing you information and tools needed for handling financial matters, understanding what documents you’ll need and how to get them, closing accounts and filing claims, Shane will support you with sifting through what can be an overwhelming process into more doable tasks.

Jenn Flaum, LCSW, MBA Executive Director

First Steps Workbook is full of checklists, tips, and other resources that are helpful to a person dealing with a descendants financial matters.

Jenn Flaum, LCSW, MBA Executive Director

First Steps Seminars connect you directly with Shane to get your individual questions answered.

Educational Signature Series

Upcoming Presenter Lineup

Regardless of our race, gender, religion, location, and privilege – dying is not an option. But how we access safe, culturally-sensitive support and care is. Join this special panel discussion with professionals from PAUSE.

Coming August 2024!

Judi’s House – Denver nonprofit dedicated to supporting grieving children and their families to find connection and healing – will be joining us in the fall of 2024 for a presentation about Supporting Grieving Children.

Coming November 2024!

More details coming soon!

Not Seeing What You Are Looking For?

As we continue to work on our programming growth, we want to hear about what you are looking for. If you have a specific request, any questions or would like more information, please contact us!

Programming Interest Form

MM slash DD slash YYYY
Name(Required)
Type of Group(Required)

*Please note that we need at least 3 individuals to commit before we can schedule.
Format/Location(Required)

Let us know your preference of virtual or in-person, or if you have any specific preference for location.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Grief Resources

Our professional support network can connect you to the resources that will meet your needs.